District Assessments 

Students at the Alexander Learning Academy and SUN program participate in the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs) and Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS). The grades required to participate in the assessments are:
Reading: grade 3 - 8 and grade 10
Math: grade 3 - 8 and grade 11
Science: grade 5, 8, and high school (after taking Biology)

You can find the assessment specifications here: Assessment Specifications


Minnesota Statutes, section 120B.31, subdivision 4a, requires the commissioner to create and publish a form for parents and guardians to complete if they refuse to have their student participate in state-required standardized assessments. This form must be completed by the parent/guardian of a student, signed, and returned to the Cooperative by March 4 to ensure your student does not participate, should that be your decision.

The form parents are required to complete is found here: Parent/Guardian Refusal for Student Participation in Statewide Assessments


MCA/MTAS Reading: March 2 - May 1

MCA/MTAS Math: March 2 - May 1

MCA Science (Elementary): March 2 - May 1

MTAS Science: March 2 - May 1

MCA Science (Secondary): March 2 - May 1